The CNST adjudication committee is comprised of up to 13 volunteers, including a Chair, responsible for administering CNST programs and for adjudicating the student awards. The committee is made up of up to six representatives from Canadian universities and up to six other members representing stakeholders or interested individuals. Members are selected for a three-year term to represent a variety of geographic regions and a balance of disciplines and expertise that reflect the applications received for the awards program, while also considering language and gender. Members are appointed for three years with staggered terms that may be renewed at the discretion of the ACUNS Board and the recommendation of CNST.


CNST Management Committee

Dr. Ellen Avard

Director, Nunavik Research Centre
Makivik Corporation

Dr. Christine Barnard

Science Coordinator, Centre des études nordiques (CEN)
Université Laval

Dr. Heather Exner-Pirot (Chair)

Strategist for Outreach and Indigenous Engagement, College of Nursing
University of Saskatchewan

Amanda Graham

Coordinator/Instructor, Northern Studies, School of Liberal Arts
Yukon College

Dr. Gwen Healey

Executive and Scientific Director
Qaujigiartiit Health Research Centre

Dr. Whitney Lackenbauer

Professor, St. Jerome’s University
University of Waterloo

Dr. Pat Maher

Associate Professor
Cape Breton University

Dr. Milla Rautio

Professor, Canada Research Chair in Boreal and Polar Aquatic Ecology
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC)

Dr. Marianne Stopp

Historian, Archaeology and History Branch
Parks Canada

Dr. Rebecca Turpin

Team Lead, Strategic Planning, Science & Technology Program
Polar Knowledge Canada

Dr. John B. Zoe

Dedats’eetsaa Tłı̨chǫ Research and Training Institute


CNST Natural Science Committee

Dr. Scott Lamoureux

Professor, Department of Geography
Queen’s University

Dr. Connie Lovejoy

Professor, Department of Biology
Université Laval

Dr. Nick Lunn (Chair)

Research Scientist, Environment Canada
Wildlife Research – West

Dr. Mark Mallory

Associate Professor, Biology
Acadia University

Dr. Kim Strong

Professor, Department of Physics
University of Toronto